top of page
Search
  • On The Road

6 down, 2 to go.

I had been meaning to write a post for a few days, but after a crappy cycle 6, I didn't really have the motivation to catch up until now. It all started well: had a lovely nurse taking care of me in the day unit, I was feeling positive about the fact that I was 6 cycles in (thus the end was in sight for this treatment sets), and I was expecting a few visitors in the following week.


I came home on the Friday, and crashed out for a bit, whilst the MIL went out, and then took it steady for the night. Saturday day was fine: it involved watching 2 rugby matches and 3 football games (including our latest capitulation, throwing away a 2 goal lead at Deepdale). Still, so far so good.


Disaster struck on the Saturday night: I checked the slow release pump, to see if it was almost spent, meaning a good disconnection the next day. However, it was nearly full, and on closer examination I noticed that the IV line was clamped shut, meaning no dose was being delivered. I had no idea how long the line had been clamped, or how it had happened, but the outcome was 1) I knew I was stuck with this for some more days and 2) I had been taking all the anti-sickness meds for zero reason, since there as nothing in my body to combat. The realisation was gut-wrenching, and suffice to say, I barely slept that night.


On Sunday morning I gave the hospital a call to find out what I needed to do, and went in later that afternoon to have them check it out. And my suspicion was confirmed, I was stuck with it until likely Tuesday morning. Visitors came on Monday afternoon, and all seemed OK. By that evening I had finished the anti-sickness meds, but no matter, the pump was coming out tomorrow. Then, tomorrow came, and the impact of being dosed with chemo, without the benefit of the meds hit home. I didn't experience bad nausea, but I was utterly wiped out, no appetite, no energy. I went into the hospital first thing to get disconnected, so at least that was a positive. A friend came over for lunch: I couldn't even finish a sandwich, and then passed out on the sofa when we we supposed to be watching a film and having a chat. Possibly the least impressive social hosting you will ever see. This carried on into Wednesday: chemo is really shit at times.


By Friday morning I was good enough to head up to Bath to attend the support group. It was good catching up with people and there were a couple of new faces too. One oddity of this group (and I assume all such counselling groups, I have no other experiences to draw on) compared to "normal" life is how you chat to new people. Normally, the last thing I would chat to a complete stranger about is anything personal, however in the comfort of the group, there is nothing wrong with "Hi, I'm so-and-so, please tell me about the terminal disease you have." I explained my story to a new chap, and then he asked me a question that I really didn't have an answer for "How do you get through each day?" Other than just cracking on with life in the here and now, there isn't really much else I can do. Those around me won't let me wallow in self-pity, not that that is my style anyway.


And so today, Saturday. Another trip to Bristol to watch City. A somewhat unconvincing, but very much welcome, 1-0 win home to Reading. One of our subs gave possibly the worst cameo I have seen in a City shirt in my memory. I fear the parents of the young lad sat in front of me had to explain some new words to him tonight. Sorry kiddo, but I needed to vent. Just tell mum and dad that those are football words, and blame the angry man in the seat behind you,

306 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Is this the end of the road?

A lot has happened since my last post, and I know I will skip large chunks of it, since only a couple of key events really matter right now. Readers, I would suggest sitting down, and buckling up: at

So it happened, and then other stuff happened

I have started this post a few times in my head, but never really managed to get it all out right. I am sure this will be no better, but I need to get this one off my chest. As noted last time around,

Breaking radio silence

I think this is by some distance the longest gap between blog posts. It is down to a number of reasons, mainly 1) a few failed attempts to start one off and not really finding the words, but more so 2

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page