top of page
Search
  • On The Road

Easter holidays

Updated: Apr 28, 2019

Easter started a day early for me, with the gift of a CT scan on the Thursday. We went back to the hospital first thing, and with a minimum of fuss got the whole thing over and done with in less than an hour. Was taken care of by yet another lovely nurse. Wasn't expecting any results to come back same day on this one, but was good to tick off another task. After the scan, we went off to run some errands, and whilst out got a call from the endoscopy team advising I was scheduled for a telephone consultation the following Tuesday: hopefully this means the actual procedure will happen soon thereafter. We then popped over to see my brother-in-law and family, before heading home.


Being a non-religious person, Easter is a great holiday. A 4 day break founded on the twin pillars of football and chocolate. We were playing at home on Good Friday, so I drove up to Bristol for the game. Another lifeless display, more dropped points, and another nail in the coffin carrying our promotion challenge. The club really knows how to kick you in the balls. Still, I caught up with family and friends.


Saturday brought a trip to a couple of reclamation yards. Hours of fun to be had wandering about, and there are truly some bargains to be had. Sadly, as with prior trips, I was not permitted to buy what I really wanted. We spent the rest of the day doing stuff, and then went over to the BIL's for dinner, along with my sister-in-law's sisters, family and dad. It proved to be an enjoyable night. My condition was not a topic of conversation, and it was good to talk about other, more pleasant, things.


Generally at Easter I pig myself on cream eggs, mini eggs, chocolate buttons, etc. This year I was much more reserved: I know that sugar is on the bad list, but figured a small lapse on one day was permitted. After exchanging gifts, we pottered, and then headed out for an Easter Sunday walk around a neighbouring village, and climbed the adjacent hill. It was a glorious day, more summer than late spring, and I daresay I was minging by the time we got back to the pub and treated ourselves to a cider. We got back, cleaned up, and not long after, my mother-in-law arrived with her wolf-pack to stay for a few days.


On Monday, my niece and her boyfriend popped over to join us for lunch. We drove out to a country pub, sat in the sun, and ate. The MIL headed off to the BIL, and the 4 of us took a stroll down to town with the dogs, sat by the river, walked the long way home along the riverbank. At the same time, a couple of hundred miles to the north in Sheffield, City were stumbling their way through another Easter Monday capitulation. Despite our woeful form, it is, amazingly, still in our hands to make the play-offs. That said, I am sure we will manage to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory in the most annoying way possible. That evening, the 3 of us went out for dinner at the pub/hotel where we stayed for our wedding. The place has been gentrified/turned into a gastropub since then. But it was a nice trip down memory lane.


And with that, Easter was over. Back to life, back to reality from Tuesday with a call incoming from the hospital.

195 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Is this the end of the road?

A lot has happened since my last post, and I know I will skip large chunks of it, since only a couple of key events really matter right now. Readers, I would suggest sitting down, and buckling up: at

So it happened, and then other stuff happened

I have started this post a few times in my head, but never really managed to get it all out right. I am sure this will be no better, but I need to get this one off my chest. As noted last time around,

Breaking radio silence

I think this is by some distance the longest gap between blog posts. It is down to a number of reasons, mainly 1) a few failed attempts to start one off and not really finding the words, but more so 2

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page