top of page
Search
  • On The Road

Good news (for now)

Since the last blog post we decided to get away for a few days before the next oncology meeting, and on a whim ended up on a long weekend in Budapest. I didn't really have any expectations of the place, other than everyone I knew who had visited previously were unanimous in talking the city up. As it turned out, it was a fabulous trip. We ate and drank well, saw some incredible sights, notably the House of Terror, and on the recommendation of my nephew, happened upon the most interesting bar I can recall drinking in.


By chance, our last night coincided with the anniversary of the Russian invasion to quash the 1956 uprising. Wandering about such a welcoming, cosmopolitan city, it seemed inconceivable something like that could have happened.


And so to today, with a high noon meeting with the oncologist to get the recent CT scan results and an update on what happens next. Neither of us had got our hopes up for the meeting, not wishing to jinx anything, and so we walked into the hospital very subdued. We were called in, sat down, both inwardly gulped, and then the oncologist opened with "today is all good news". She went on to describe that all the existing masses had shrunk, some by up to 20%, no new masses had been identified, and that I was getting a break from chemo for 3 months (subject to periodic checks and blood-work). Short of getting told I was cancer free, and cured, it was about the best outcome I could have hoped for. Now, all this needs to be put into context: it is great news, but I am realistic enough to know that this is simply 1 battle in a bigger war. Yes, I will take a win when I can, but there is plenty more of this shitty journey ahead of me.


The other news was that I had been accepted into a clinical trial, pending my final consent to participate. This will involve taking chemo in tablet form during what would otherwise be my break period. Assuming it all works re timings, I can't see any reason to not participate: even if it doesn't do me any particular good, I would hope the results can ultimately help someone else down the road.


So, all in all, not a bad day. I think we'll celebrate tonight with a glass of wine. I updated family and friends with the news, and then spent a pleasant few hours receiving a slew of messages, all reaffirming support and sending well wishes.

176 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Is this the end of the road?

A lot has happened since my last post, and I know I will skip large chunks of it, since only a couple of key events really matter right now. Readers, I would suggest sitting down, and buckling up: at

So it happened, and then other stuff happened

I have started this post a few times in my head, but never really managed to get it all out right. I am sure this will be no better, but I need to get this one off my chest. As noted last time around,

Breaking radio silence

I think this is by some distance the longest gap between blog posts. It is down to a number of reasons, mainly 1) a few failed attempts to start one off and not really finding the words, but more so 2

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page