top of page
Search
  • On The Road

Set 2, 4 down, 2 to go

Another chemo cycle is done and dusted. The only negative of note being the hand neuropathy. I was advised that this would repeat through the treatment cycles, and would incrementally get worse each time. The oncologist wasn't lying. This time around it kicked in as soon as I stepped outside of the hospital into cool air. It doesn't stay around too long, but the pain is real. Some people do have it persist long after treatment ends, so I'll have to wait and see what happens.


The cycle itself was without incident: the ward was reasonably busy for the 3 hours I was in there, but everyone was being sensible, and the nurses were still in gloves, masks, and aprons. The change this time is that they were also all wearing plastic goggles, even over their own glasses. What remains remarkable is the general spirit of them all. They may be away from the front-line Covid/ITU wards, but I have no doubt they are under increased pressure, and they are discharging their duties with a blend of professionalism and humanity.


The groundwork for cycle 5 started today with a visit to the local GP surgery to have blood taken. It is a walk of a few minutes, but I was cautious about coming into contact with anyone. As with previous visits, the surgery has never been quieter. I saw the same senior HCA as last time around, and like the nurses at Musgrove, she was upbeat about everything. Call with the oncologist due on Wednesday and, fingers crossed, back in the saddle on Friday.


Away from chemo, lock down life trundles on, although like many people, days blur into one another. It occurred to me today that this is the longest period I have gone without using a cash machine: I am still carrying the same 4 ten pound notes in my wallet that I drew out some time mid-March. Amazing how the need for cash dries up when you don't actually go anywhere.

114 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Is this the end of the road?

A lot has happened since my last post, and I know I will skip large chunks of it, since only a couple of key events really matter right now. Readers, I would suggest sitting down, and buckling up: at

So it happened, and then other stuff happened

I have started this post a few times in my head, but never really managed to get it all out right. I am sure this will be no better, but I need to get this one off my chest. As noted last time around,

Breaking radio silence

I think this is by some distance the longest gap between blog posts. It is down to a number of reasons, mainly 1) a few failed attempts to start one off and not really finding the words, but more so 2

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page